Job Seeker 101

Well, its time for me to find a new job and this job hunting process sucks.  Maybe its because I’m a product of the spoiled generation or maybe because I’m just not qualified to be considered for any “good” job.  Either way I never feel I am prepared or ready to find jobs, go to interviews or obtain a job.  I guess I just don’t have enough confidence in my professional skills to land anything.

 

This is my dilemma and probably most of the job-seekers problem.  I know when I go into an interview the desperation and the uneasiness just radiates off me like a high school kid going to Junior Prom.  The thing is outside of an interview situation I can turn on the charm.  But, I just don’t know whats proper to do and what the right answers are when I walk into a new building with people that are literally judging my every move.  

I spend too much time thinking about what other people think of me.  I believe everybody gets this basic insecure feeling especially when they are afraid and when they are unprepared for the task at hand.  Practice, knowledge and a game plan go a long way in creating confidence.  My problem is I haven’t gone the extra mile to make myself prepared enough to be confident.  If you want something bad enough you should be able to work hard enough to achieve it.

Maybe if I just find the place where I want to be then I will work my ass off to get to that position.  Or maybe I will just half ass my way through life and hope something happens.  I’m sick of the ladder to be honest and I think now is as good a day as any to start working and creating my future.  You only get one stupid life in this stupid world might as well make awesome.  You can’t be awesome waiting.  To get a job you have to work.  Just like anything else if you don’t work hard at it its not worth having.  

Leave a Reply

